Women’s World Cup 2023: Tracking the Nations Eliminated from the Australia and New Zealand Tournament

July 29, 2023

The 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup has brought a new wave of excitement as it introduces an expanded edition of the tournament, co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand. With 32 national teams vying for glory in the largest bracket ever seen in the competition, the stakes are higher than ever before. As the matches progress, we witness thrilling victories, unexpected upsets, and the heartbreaking elimination of teams. In this article, we’ll be tracking the nations that have been knocked out of the Women’s World Cup 2023, and delving into the journey of each eliminated team.

The Magnitude of 2023 Women’s World Cup

The 2023 Women’s World Cup marks several historical milestones in the competition’s legacy. For the first time ever, the tournament is jointly hosted by two nations, Australia and New Zealand. This brings a unique opportunity for fans across both countries to come together and celebrate the beautiful game on a grand scale.

Moreover, Oceania welcomes the Women’s World Cup for the first time in its history, signifying the growing global appeal of women’s soccer. The decision to expand the tournament from 24 to 32 teams has opened doors for more nations to participate and showcase their talent on the world stage.

The Group Stage Dynamics

The group stage is where the journey begins for all 32 national teams. Spanning from July 20 to August 3, teams compete fiercely to secure a spot in the knockout rounds. The format is straightforward: the top two teams from each group advance to the Round of 16. This simple yet intense structure leaves no room for complacency and ensures that every match counts.

The expansion to 32 teams has also paved the way for eight sides to make their World Cup debut in 2023. These emerging teams add an element of unpredictability to the tournament, as they strive to make their mark on the world stage.

Notable Eliminations from the Group Stage

As the competition progresses, we have already witnessed the elimination of five teams during the group stage. Let’s take a closer look at each of these teams and their journey in the tournament:

1. Panama

  • FIFA Ranking: 52
  • Date Eliminated: July 29
  • Stage Eliminated: Group Stage
  • How Eliminated: Loss vs. Brazil, Jamaica

2. Vietnam

  • FIFA Ranking: 32
  • Date Eliminated: July 27
  • Stage Eliminated: Group Stage
  • How Eliminated: Loss vs. USA, Portugal

3. Costa Rica

  • FIFA Ranking: 36
  • Date Eliminated: July 26
  • Stage Eliminated: Group Stage
  • How Eliminated: Loss vs. Spain, Japan

4. Zambia

  • FIFA Ranking: 77
  • Date Eliminated: July 26
  • Stage Eliminated: Group Stage
  • How Eliminated: Loss vs. Japan, Spain

5. Republic of Ireland

  • FIFA Ranking: 22
  • Date Eliminated: July 26
  • Stage Eliminated: Group Stage
  • How Eliminated: Loss vs. Australia, Canada

These teams fought valiantly but fell short in their respective matches, facing tough opponents that proved to be formidable obstacles.

Format and Rules for Knockout Rounds

The knockout rounds begin on August 5 with the Round of 16. From this stage onwards, the stakes are higher, and every match is a do-or-die situation for the teams. The Round of 16, Quarterfinals, Semifinals, and Third-place matches will follow until the ultimate showdown on August 20, when the two finalists compete for the prestigious Women’s World Cup trophy.

Tiebreaker Rules in the Knockout Rounds

In the event of a tie in any knockout match after regular time, an additional 30 minutes of extra time will be played. If the scores remain level after extra time, a nerve-wracking penalty shootout will determine the winner. These tiebreaker rules add drama and intensity to the already exhilarating knockout matches.

Embracing Global Diversity

The changes made to the 2023 Women’s World Cup have significantly increased the number of participating teams, making it a truly global event. With 32 nations from different continental federations, the competition celebrates the diversity and richness of women’s soccer worldwide.

The Qualification Process

The road to the Women’s World Cup is paved with intense qualification matches, where teams must prove their prowess and earn their ticket to the prestigious tournament. Qualifying for the World Cup is a dream come true for many players and nations, and it represents the culmination of years of hard work and dedication.


As the 2023 Women’s World Cup progresses, we eagerly follow the fortunes of the competing nations. The journey has been one of excitement, heartbreak, and awe-inspiring moments. From the group stage eliminations to the knockout rounds, each match has added to the rich tapestry of this global event.

The Women’s World Cup 2023 exemplifies the power of sport in bringing people together and celebrating the spirit of competition. As we await the crowning of the new champion, let us cherish the memories created on this remarkable journey and continue to support and inspire the athletes who make the beautiful game truly unforgettable.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *